Caritas Rwanda

Caritas Rwanda was established in 1960 by Catholic Bishops of Rwanda. It was officially recognized as a non-profit organization by the ministerial order nr 499/08 in 1962, and became a non-governmental organization according to the law no 06/2012 of 17/02/2012 governing the management and governance of religion-based institutions in Rwanda.

Since 1965, Caritas Rwanda was integrated in an extended Caritas Organization known as, Caritas Internationalis, which is an international confederation of all Caritas organizations in the world. At the moment Caritas Rwanda is operating countrywide through Diocesan Caritas, Parish Caritas, sub-parish and Small Christian Communities’ Caritas.

Caritas Rwanda’s Vision and Mission

The Vision of Caritas Rwanda is to achieve a society that provides human dignity in which every human being was created; the dignity deprived by discrimination, extreme poverty, sickness and injustice. Caritas assist the vulnerable through its socio-welfare activities, health and development initiatives. All these activities are based on Charity.

Caritas Rwanda’s values:

  • Human Dignity
  • Solidarity
  • Service
  • Subsidiarity and partnership
  • Compassion
  • Hope
  • Equity
  • Stewardship

Caritas Rwanda Key Objectives

  • To provide a particular care to the vulnerable without any discrimination
  • To achieve an integral human being
  • To support beneficiaries ‘contribution
  • To promote partnership
  • To ensure quality service
  • To promote sustainable activities

Area(s) of Focus

Agriculture, Education, Environmental and Natural Resources, Family Planning and Reproductive Health, Gender, Gender Based Violence, HIV and AIDS, Life Skills, Malaria, Maternal, Neonatal and Child Health, Non-Communicable Disease Prevention, Nutrition, Social and Behavior Change Communication, Water, Sanitation and Hygiene, Youth

Current Districts Working in Rwanda

Bugesera, Burera, Gakenke, Gasabo, Gatsibo, Gicumbi, Gisagara, Huye, Kamonyi, Karongi, Kayonza, Kicukiro, Kigali, Kirehe, Muhanga, Musanze, Ngoma, Ngororero, Nyabihu, Nyagatare, Nyamagabe, Nyamasheke, Nyanza, Nyarugenge, Nyaruguru, Rubavu, Ruhango, Rulindo, Rusizi, Rutsiro, Rwamagana